Dragonfly Love – Innovative Stamp Creations

Another goodie from the May challenge to use our old images from Betsy @Innovative Stamp Creations. Both the dragonfly & phrase are from the Artsy Swirls sheet. I’ve had this sheet since 2006!

I adore this dragonfly! So stylized and perfectly shows the ecto-skeleton dragonflies are famous for.

Again, I used the “dancing rubber fish” technique from Fred B. Mullett. Stamped on cream cardstock with black & cream pigment ink and used 4 different embossing powders. I softly shaded the wings with watercolors and added bright red eyes. A little gold trim around the edges using gold Prismacolor pen.

The background piece is embossed on deep sage green cardstock using a Cuttlebug folder. I swiped (very gently) the raised areas with Peeled Paint Distress Ink from Ranger, embossed with clear EP then used gold Brilliance on a sponge to “burnish” the paper. I really liked the metallic look this gave the background.

A little ribbon and phrase added just the right touch!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hallitron
    May 07, 2011 @ 16:02:42

    I love this! No wonder we can never get together, you are so busy creating, and I am so busy being stumped! You did a great job,

    Reply

  2. Barbara Albrecht
    May 07, 2011 @ 21:05:36

    This is LOVELY!!! You MUST teach me how to do this technique!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  3. Colleen
    May 08, 2011 @ 22:26:36

    You have to be one of the most talented, if not the most talented, women I have ever had the pleasure of knowing & loving. HUGE HUGS my Nug/Sis.

    Reply

  4. Jane
    May 09, 2011 @ 16:36:02

    Kathy,
    Your card looks like a jewel treasure! I love the detail in this dragonfly image! And your sentiment is absolutely perfect for the image! I love watching dragonflies in summer when I am watering the lawn, they come for a drink! I love to see their delicate colors catching the light, sparkling in the sun. Who knew in April and May I would be watering already, but alas, I haven’t seen the dragonflies yet. Thank you for sharing your art. Fabulous!

    Reply

  5. Evelyn in Oregon
    May 25, 2011 @ 11:55:08

    Absolutely fabulous look!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

